dreams, inspiration, motivation

Semi-Obtainable Dreams

When we think about the things we want, or the goals we wish to achieve, we often dream big. There’s nothing wrong with that, necessarily. It can act as great motivating force, and can spur you forward even when you feel like you have nothing left to give.

That being said, it’s often worthwhile to set smaller, more obtainable goals along the way; things that don’t require years or (gulp) decades to achieve. Here are our semi-obtainable dreams:

Wyatt: I would make potentially poor life choices in order to get a fireplace. When I was a kid I was a little pyromaniac–I was the one at Fourth of July’s who would hold roman candles in my hand (DO NOT DO THIS) while my mom sprinted toward me with a bucket of water; I always wanted to build bonfires in our backyard, and once nearly incinerated our garage; I loved when the power went out, because that meant I got to light the candles and help dad build a fire in the fireplace. I don’t know what it is about fire, but I find it to be incredibly relaxing. I love the sound and smell and light. I’m such a weirdo that I’ll often set my television to a Youtube video of a fire in a fireplace (yes, this exists, see here) just to get the feeling of having one.

Walt: A dog. It wouldn’t be fair to the dog at this point in my life because I live in a small apartment and with school and everything I wouldn’t be able to give it the attention it would deserve. But gahhhh I would do anything for a dog. Either an English Sheepdog or an Alaskan Malamute. Actually, why not both? I would name them Winston and Togo. They’d be my wingmen. Puppies. Winston would be somber and philosophical and Togo would be energetic and playful. We’d get into shenanigans. We’d probably get our own television show. It would be incredibly popular, allowing Wyatt and I the opportunity to write full time. Then, I’d buy Wyatt a fireplace. Seems reasonable. Seems doable.

What small goals have you set for yourself? What’s something you really want that you can realistically attain? As always, thanks for reading, and have a great Friday!

W & W Sawday

Standard

6 thoughts on “Semi-Obtainable Dreams

Leave a Reply

