books, fiction, inspiration, Memories, youth

The First Books We Loved

We got to talking the other day about the earliest books we remember reading. Not the books our parents read to us, but the first ones we read on our own, doing the whole staying-up-past-our-bedtime-reading-by-flashlight-beneath-the-covers-thing. Here are the first books we remember loving.

Wyatt: Any of the Redwall books by Brian Jacques. If you’re unfamiliar, think Watership Down meets Game of Thrones. Really kickass mice. I remember I actually started reading them–it must have been back in like the third grade–because I saw this girl I had an unbelievable crush on reading one. I thought that could be like my in. That part of the plan didn’t really work out, but I devoured those books.

Walt: Foundation, by Isaac Asimov. Our dad actually recommended it to me. It’s hard to explain the feeling I remember having when I read that book without getting overly sentimental or something. It sort of…enveloped me. I just remember getting sucked into it and rereading it like ten times. That was the first book that did something like that to me. Actually, David Foster Wallace had a really great phrase that explained what I’m sort of getting at: he called it getting “an erection of the heart.” Foundation gave me an erection of the heart.

What were the first stories you remember reading and loving? What do you think it was about them that captivated you? Let us know in the comments below! As always, thanks for reading.

W & W Sawday

Standard

2 thoughts on “The First Books We Loved

  1. Dominic Sceski says:

    I used to love the Inheritance Cycle and the Jedi Apprentice series! Those were the first books I used to read on my own. They definitely sparked my interest in fantasy and wholesome, upright characters!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

